Event Suppliers

Event suppliers and equipment

Below you will find useful contacts to help you to organise your triathlon event. Suppliers are listed in no particular order.

First aid

There are many voluntary or commercial first aid companies you can contact.  Voluntary (such as the Red Cross / St Andrews) are usually slightly more cost effective, but it can be hard to confirm a booking until close to your event.

For other first aid companies, it will be easier to confirm a booking, but it is likely you will pay slightly more.  In all cases you should ascertain their commitment to welfare of vulnerable groups, by asking to see their welfare policy, and confirming that volunteers / staff are appropriately trained and members of the Protection of Vulnerable Groups scheme.

Timing Companies

Below are companies where you can hire timing services from. You will usually be charged for supply of hardwear/chips, travel and staff time. To enquire about purchasing your own timing equipment, then visit www.rfidtiming.com.

Results Base www.resultsbase.net henry.trotter@resultsbase.net
Finishline Chip Timing Systems www.finishlinetiming.co.uk info@finishlinetiming.co.uk
Durty Timing, Paul McGreal www.durtyevents.com info@durtyevents.com
What’s My Time, Julie Burrows www.whatsmytime.co.uk whatsmytime@gmail.com
Winning Time, Freya Ross www.winningtime.co.uk freya@winningtime.co.uk
PB Timing www.pbtiming.co.uk pbtiming@btinternet.com
DB Max www.dbmax.co.uk via website
Stuweb www.stuweb.co.uk chris@stuweb.co.uk


Entry systems – sign up your competitors

Below are companies where you can advertise your event and manage your event entry sign ups.  British Triathlon is a very competitive site and is linked to Triathlon Membership, making it easier to manage your data.  It also gives you fantastic insights about your participants, in ease to read and export graphs.

British Triathlon events.britishtriathlon.org  events@britishtriathlon.org
Entry Central www.entrycentral.com ianmcl@entrycentral.com
Active Network www.activenetwork.co.uk emea-support@activenetwork.com
Q-Buster www.q-buster.co.uk freya@q-buster.com
Born2Run www.born2run.co.uk via website
Stuweb www.stuweb.co.uk chris@stuweb.co.uk


Swim safety

Below are contacts to help to make your swim section run smoothly.

Open Water Rescue (affiliated to RLSS) secretary@openwaterrescue.co.uk
Lomo – swim safety buoys www.ewetsuits.com
Crewsaver – swim safety buoys www.crewsaver.com


Transition Cycle racking

You can make or purchase your own bike racking for use at your events, but if you can’t store it, the next best thing is to hire. Below are companies or individuals who hire out triathlon racking. Also these contacts are likely to hire out have other items such as gantries, buoys, generators etc for a small charge, so don’t forget to ask.

Durty Events paul@durtyevents.com A frame – rack by seat Borders
Eventfull nick@eventfull.biz Dome shape – rack by wheel Dundee
John Lunn johnelunn@yahoo.co.uk A frame shape – rack by seat post Stirling
Edinburgh Racing brucewkidd@gmail.com Various Edinburgh
BSLT nrenton@bslt.org.uk Various Borders
Live Active Leisure events@liveactive.co.uk Various Aberfeldy



Because of the often rural nature of our sport, it is not always possible to rely on mobile telephones for communications. Many event organisers borrow or purhase two way radios. You can source radio equipment or services from the following

Link Tel http://www.link-tel.co.uk Hire or purchase radio equipment
Raynet http://www.raynet-uk.net Hire radio communication services (volunteers) or just equipment
Scottish Communications http://www.scottishcommunications.com Purchase radio equipment


To enhance your event, it is possible to hire event commentators to liven up your finish line.  If you are aware of any other great commentators, please let us know.

Graham Coull You Can Sport
Dougie Robertson Dougie Robertson 07970 720258

Water quality testing

If you wish to host an event in the open water (loch/sea/river) then you must carry out water quality testing. There is likely to be a science lab local to your area, however here are companies who test water for events.

Glasgow Scientific Services GSS@glasgow.gov.uk 0141 276 0610
Andersen Caledonia lab@andersencaledonia.com 01698 844476
Tayside Scientific Services jane.couper@dundeecity.gov.uk
01382 307170


Race sundries

Below are contacts to purchase various items to make your event run smoothly such as signage, race numbers, medals etc


Running Imp www.runningimp.co.uk
Team Strides www.sporting-medals.co.uk



It is possible to access funding to help support your event. This will help you to purchase your own event equipment, or event branding such as flags, banners and even larger items such as inflatable gantries. Below are some examples of funding providers or search engines. For more information about funding, please contact events@triathlonscotland.org

Triathlon Scotland Event start up grants  £300
Foundation Scotland Various local and national grants  £300+
Funding finder sportscotland website  Various


Event branding – flags, banners, gantry

We work with Legends Promotional Products to produce all of our event flags, scrim banners and staff clothing. Visit www.legend-s.co.uk for a quotation.

Our Partners

Triathlon Scotland is proud to work alongside the following partners and sponsors.

  • Equality in Sport
  • British Triathlon
  • sportscotland
  • University of Stirling
  • Winning Students Scotland
  • Cashback for Communities
  • Big Lottery Fund
  • Legends S
  • ImacImages Photography
Work With Us