The Scottish Water National Sprint Triathlon Championships 2016

12th Jul 2016 | Written by LesleyJ

What a day of action at the Scottish Water National Sprint Championships [2016] on Sunday [10 July]!  A glorious morning rewarded the early rising volunteers who headed to Monikie Country Park to make sure the final touches were added to the race venue.  Sadly the weather was not to remain so kind and the inevitable rain descended on Monikie – however spirits remained high and the event was a great success – living up to its 2015 Triathlon Scotland Event of the Year status!

Piped to the start line, the athletes were set off in three waves with the males first.  A mass beach start the gun sounded and the athletes were off sprinting in to the water to begin their 750m swim.  Last year’s junior champion, Lewis Strachan had a great swim, coming out the water a couple of seconds ahead of Fraser Cartmell and George Goodwin, who were in hot pursuit coming out of T1.  On to the bike Goodwin and Cartmell overtook Strachan and with just seconds separating them, they entered T2 leaving with Cartmell three seconds ahead of Goodwin.  Out on the run Goodwin ran into the lead with the fasted run split of the day, to take the win in 1:01:07, 48 seconds ahead of second place Cartmell with Craig Dale in third.

Commenting on the race, George said: “I had a good race today, it went well.  I didn’t have a break in my training coming here, so I am pleased with how I raced.  It is a really good course.  I am now looking forward to joining the squads in Banyoles.”

In the female race where the field included; Natalie Milne, Becky Wain, Debbie Moore, Scottish National Duathlon medallist, Claire Coey and young Triathlon Scotland Foundation Squad member, Sophia Green it was set to be an interesting race.  Once the klaxon sounded they were off and the field quickly spread out.  A few veered a little of course but were soon back on track as they headed to the second buoy.   It was Milne who came out the water first with a good lead and she was swiftly through T1 and out on the bike before Green and Moore could catch her.

Youngster Green had a phenomenal race where she held on to the second spot for a long time, before Moore used her power to get past her on the bike.  Moore was trying to chase down Milne but couldn’t catch her as Milne’s lead stretched away.  A gun to tape victory for Milne, retaining her 2015 Sprint Championship title and adding another 2016 National Title to add to her collection.  Debbie Moore once again had a great performance to seal the second spot with Sophia Green the fastest junior and third fastest overall – a great race from the youngster.  Claire Coey also had a good performance to take the third spot behind Milne and Moore, on the senior female podium – adding to her third place at the 2016 National Duathlon Championships at the start of the season.

Commenting on the race, Natalie said: “I came here off lots of training so I was pleased with how the race went.  It is a great course, in a really good location.  From here I will head to France to race for my team, on Thursday [14 July].”

A special mention to Arnott Kidd, a very popular person to the triathlon community, racing in the classic category (+80) who is an inspiration to us all!

Full results:  Overall / Male / Female

The next event in the Scottish Water National Championships Series is the Scottish Water National Cross Championships in Badaguish, Aviemore on Sunday 7 August.

Your Scottish Water National Sprint Champions are:

Overall Male Overall Female
1st – George Goodwin 1:01:07 1st – Natalie Milne (Pentlands Triathletes) 1:08:04
2nd – Fraser Cartmell 1:01:55 2nd – Debbie Moore (Fleet Feet) 1:10:22
3rd – Craig Dale ( 1:03:57 3rd – Sophia Green 1:13:07
Youth (15-16) Male Youth (15-16) Female
1st – Robert Sparks (East Fife Triathlon Club) 1:06:57 1st – Sophia Green 1:13:07
2nd – Luke Williams 1:11:59
3rd – Ossian Arthur 1:14:20
Junior (17-19) Male Junior (17-19) Female
1st – Lewis Strachan (Fusion Triathlon Club) 1:05:26 1st – Rosina Graham (Edinburgh #3) 1:23:15
2nd – Andrew Merry (Monifieth Triathlon Club) 1:05:44 2nd – Eilidh Thomson 1:23:25
3rd – Sam Hodson 1:09:51 3rd – Toni Moore 1:25:25
Senior (20-39) Male Senior (20-39) Female
1st – George Goodwin 1:01:07 1st – Natalie Milne (Pentlands Triathletes)  1:08:04
2nd – Fraser Cartmell (Stirling Triathlon Club) 1:01:55 2nd – Debbie Moore (Fleet Feet) 1:10:22
3rd – Craig Dale 1:03:57 3rd – Claire Coey (Fusion Triathlon Club) 1:13:58
Veteran (40-49) Male Veteran (40-49) Female
1st – Andy Turnbull (Stirling Triathlon Club) 1:06:24 1st – Elizabeth Richardson (Edinburgh Triathletes/HBC JETS) 1:14:20
2nd – Stephen Clark (Fife AC) 1:06:35 2nd – Gillian Hislop (Pentland Triathletes/HBC JETS) 1:15:42
3rd – Adam Chmielowski (Edinburgh RC) 1:07:15 3rd – Lorna Todd (Ayrodynamic Triathlon Club) 1:17:50
Super Veteran (50-59) Male Super Veteran (50-59) Female
1st – Mike Harvey (Perth Triathlon Club) 1:09:27 1st – Penny Rother (Edinburgh RC) 1:20:04
2nd – Martin Duthie (G72 Tri) 1:11:09 2nd – Anne Peat (Edinburgh RC) 1:22:34
3rd –David Auchie (Ayrodynamic Triathlon Club) 1:12:37 3rd –Sylvia Cranston (Montrose Triathlon Club) 1:22:50
Vintage (60-69) Male Vintage (60-69) Female
1st – David Sutherland (Wick Triathlon Club) 1:22:12 1st – Susan McKay (Fleet Feet Triathletes) 1:28:25
2nd – Ian Edwards (Aberdeen University ) 1:36:24 2nd – Patricia Angus (Edinburgh Triathletes) 1:53:53
3rd – Jim Paton (M3 Tri) 1:52:13 3rd – Gillian Kennedy (Perth Triathlon Club) 1:55:09
Super Vintage (70-79) Male
1st – James Shields 1:25:14
Super Vintage (70-79) Female

1st – Jane Askey (East Fife Triathlon Club)

2nd – Douglas Wood (Stirling Triathlon Club) 1:29:55
Classic (+80) Male

1st – Arnott Kidd (Edinburgh Triathletes) 1:52:36

Classic (+80) Female

No participants

Our Partners

Triathlon Scotland is proud to work alongside the following partners and sponsors.

  • Equality in Sport
  • British Triathlon
  • sportscotland
  • University of Stirling
  • Winning Students Scotland
  • Cashback for Communities
  • Big Lottery Fund
  • Legends S
  • ImacImages Photography
  • Yonda
  • MPH
  • Knockburn
Work With Us